MANHEIM TOWNSHIP SCHOOL DISTRICT ORGANIZATION MEETING December 7, 2015 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

William Murry, President, called the Work Session of the Manheim Township Board of School Directors to order at 7:00 p.m. School directors present were Mark Anderson, Anthony DeLeo, Steve Grosh, Nathan Geesey, Todd Heckman, Michael Lynch, Lynn Miller, William Murry and Grace Strittmatter. Also present were John Nodecker, Superintendent; Laura Heikkinen, Director of Business Operations; Karen Nell, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Tony Aldinger, Director of Community Outreach; Tom Koch, Plant Manager; and Jennifer Davidson, Board Secretary.

Absent: Tim Williams, Assistant to the Superintendent for Secondary Curriculum, Instruction and Technology

Visitors present are recorded in the official school board guest book. A quorum was present, and due notice had been published.

L

Purpose of Organization Meeting	Mr. Murry announced that this meeting is for the purpose of organization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended.
Pledge of Allegiance	Mr. Murry led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance.
Roll Call Vote	Mr. Murry announced that unless otherwise stated, each vote taken at this meeting will be considered a roll call vote and the secretary will record any negative votes or abstentions.
Election of Temporary President	Mr. Murry called for nominations for a Temporary President, according to School Code 402, Policy 005.
	Mr. DeLeo moved and Mr. Lynch seconded Nathan Geesey to serve as temporary president, for the purpose of organization of the Board of School Directors. There were no other nominations.
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Presentation of Certificates of Election	Mrs. Davidson presented Certificates of Election for Mr. Mark Anderson, Mr. Steve Grosh, Mr. Todd Heckman, Ms. Lynn Miller, Mr. William Murry, Ms. Grace Strittmatter.
Member List	 Mr. Geesey announced the 2015/16 Membership List of Board of School Directors as directed by School Code 402, Policy 005 Mr. Mark Anderson, elected Mr. Anthony DeLeo, holdover Mr. Nathan Geesey, holdover Mr. Steve Grosh, elected Mr. Todd Heckman, elected

	 Mr. Michel Lynch, holdover Ms. Lynn Miller, elected Mr. William Murry, elected Ms. Grace Strittmatter, elected
Oath of Office	Mr. Geesey, Temporary President, administered the Oath of Office
Election of President	Mr. Heckman moved and Mr. Anderson seconded the motion to nominate Mr. Bill Murry as President of the Board of School Directors for the 2015-16 term. There were no other nominations.
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Election of Vice President	Mr. Heckman moved and Mr. Grosh seconded the nomination of Mr. Mark Anderson as Vice-President of the Board of School Directors for a one-year term. Mr. DeLeo moved and Ms. Strittmatter seconded Mr. Nathan Geesey as Vice-President of the Board of School Directors for a one-year term. Mr. Heckman moved and Ms. Miller seconded to close the nominations. A ballot vote was cast.
	With a vote of 6 for Mr. Anderson and 3 for Mr. Geesey, Mr. Anderson will assume the role of Vice President.
Election of Assistant Secretary	Mr. Anderson moved and Mr. Geesey seconded approval the nomination of Mr. Todd Heckman as Assistant Secretary of the Board of School Directors for a one-year term. There were no other nominations.
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Board Committee Assignments	Mr. Anderson moved and Michael Mr. Grosh seconded approval of the list of Board committee assignments. (attachment)
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Board "Partner School" Assignments	Mr. Anderson moved and Mr. Heckman seconded approval of the list of Board "Partner School" assignments. (attachment)
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Meeting Dates	Ms. Miller moved and Mr. Anderson seconded that regular meetings be held on the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., with the exception of July and December, and that regular workshops will be held on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., with the exception of July and December.
	Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.
Manheim Township Citizens' Comments	There were no citizen comments at this time.

Adjourn to a Work Session

The business of organization being concluded, Mr. Heckman moved and Mr. Geesey seconded the motion to adjourn the Organization Meeting at approximately 7:12 p.m.

Voice vote with all members present voting aye. Motion carried.

Mr. William Murry, President

Jennifer Davidson, Secretary